Living in the DC/VA area has some amazing qualities but it also comes with annoyances. And most of those times, they come in the form of dumb pedestrians, annoying bikers or drivers who don't know the rules of the road. I love how people in the city love to exercise. It encourages me to stay fit when I see runners outside on the sidewalks. I'm from a small town in Connecticut and the only time anyone runs outside is away from the po-pos in New Haven. Instead they would prefer driving to a gym in order to run. (I never quite understood that concept when the weather was nice).
Annoyance 1: Pedestrians who should get hit because it seems the only way they'll learn. As a kid, you are taugh to look both ways or at least the way of oncoming traffic. Driving in the DMV area shows me that somewhere between the age of 3 and 18+ years the walker lost that lesson. As I'm in my car, a pedestrian will just jay walk in front of me --basically egging me to strike them in the knee for being dumb. Or I get the idiots who do use crosswalks--but forgot to look before they step out. Worst of all, I get the ones looking in the opposite direction of the one way sign. WTF? Even dyslexic people understand left vs. right. Why are you looking left if the traffic is coming from the right you shit? I'm not asking for people to get a complete car smack down don't get me wrong, but they should be tapped once in awhile just to show them that you are not Bruce Willis in Unbreakable.
Annoyance 2: Crazy drivers who somehow magically passed their driver's exam. Especially foreign ones. No this is not China. Those white lines are lanes and those lights tell you what to do. Follow them. You can't go wrong. I'm walking outside during lunch today when I come across a crazy Asian driver. The crosswalk is flashing for me to walk and as I'm halfway through, an Asian woman pulling out of the Chinese embassy decides it's also the moment she wants to pull up and turn right onto the street. Yea you can wait 5 more seconds until I make it to the other side. But she's giving me a dirty look. She honks her horn and slowly edges forward silently threatening me to break out in a run. HA. Honking at me in any situation makes me want to piss you off even more. Hit me, go ahead. I'll own you and your BMW. Anyway, as I get to the other side, she she's trying to turn only to be stopped by the DC cop who saw the whole thing. He's pointing at me and saying something. I can only guess that she just got yelled at for unnecessary honking. Hahaha...karma is a bitch.
By the way, any dumb driver who decides to open their car door when cars are coming should have it taken off. DC roads are narrow as it is. On top of that, cars are allowed to take up 30% of that space to parallel park, leaving close to no space for drivers to go by. Before you get out, take the .2 seconds to look in your sideview mirror to see if I'm coming. If you're stupid and you still open the door, you deserved any abuse to your door.
Annoyance 3: The worst offenders: BIKERS! If you are given a bike lane, use it! You are not a vehicle, and you will never be. It doesn't matter if your pumping your thighs rapidly to catch up with traffic--my engine will always kick your behind. Yet, bikers continue to pedal right in the middle of the street so you can never pass and you're stuck going at 10 mph until they decide to stop being a putz and move over. I wish I can pass them and stick my hand out just to knock them over. If you are going to be a vehicle, at least act like one. Get in the slow lane and stop trying to be a race car.
No comments:
Post a Comment